A few tips for gluing the inner rails on a Wee Lassie Cedar Strip canoe

Gluing the Inner Rail On A Wee Lassie Cedar Strip Canoe

Gluing the Inner Rail On A Wee Lassie Cedar Strip Canoe

My only complaint about Mac Mcarthy’s book Featherweight Boatbuilding is that he covers some very complicated tasks very quickly with little fanfare. Sometimes tasks that take an entire afternoon are covered in one sentence.One such instance goes something like, “Install the inner and outer rails.”

One of the things he says to do is glue the outside rail and inner rail at the same time. While this would be faster, I find messing with two items at once, both slippery with glue, can be a nightmare. So if you have the time, just glue them one at a time. I also don’t have enough clamps to do both the port and starboard sides so I’m doing them one at a time. At this rate it will take me about four days what he could get done in one. But in a project as long and drawn out as this, does a few extra days really matter.

Secondly I discovered why he says to round over the rails after you install them. I rounded my rails over before I installed them. I thought I could get more consistent results with the table vs. hand held router. But now the rails under the for and aft decks will have a radius where they contact the decks, and thus a slightly diminshed gluing surface. Probably not a big deal, but still something to think about.

Leave a Reply

