Thile and Daves

Check out this great video of Chris Thile with Michael Daves playing My Little Girl In Tennessee. It has hints of New-Yorker-ironic-Hillbilly-chic which gets on my nerves a bit. At the same time, you can’t deny that the harmonies are pretty solid and bring back the Monroe Brother’s vibe pretty well and the instrumental pyrotechnics speak for themselves.

Michael Daves seems to have his own style of playing, which is unique in the guitar world, not that we are knocking “the style” but you know, its nice to see someone break out of “the bluegrass guitar mold” and do their own thing.

The videography is pretty cool, nice black and white look, good contrast, fairly cinematic, good sound quality. Someone obviously put some thought into it, good stuff.

Makes me wish I was going to Merlefest this weekend, but alas!

I’ll never forget the first time I saw Chris Thile live. I think we were waiting for Tony and Peter to go on at the Creekside stage and we wanted to be front and center. The show before them was billed as Joh Doyle and John Hermann. I’d never seen John Doyle, but like most things at Merlefest, I think I was more blown away by his set than the Tony and Peter show we were waiting for. Anyway in the middle of the John Doyle and John Hermann set, Thile jumps up there, tears the roof off the place and the crowd goes nuts. I’d heard Nickle Creek at that point but I had no idea what that guy could do… blah blah blah. It’s good to see he is still doing the good stuff and isn’t too totally lost, off wondering in the weeds, chasing down the dream of breaking boundaries and forging new territory by composing epic hillbilly chamber music nobody will appreciate. (Not that there’s anything wrong with that)

Leave a Reply

